

COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 2019-09

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE SECRETARY OF THE NAVY TO CONSIDER NAMING A UNITED STATES NAVAL VESSEL THE U.S.S. DOVER

WHEREAS, Delaware has played an important role in American history, with the motto "Liberty and Independence," it was the first to ratify the United States Constitution on December 7, 1787 at the Golden Fleece Tavern located in it's capital, Dover. It was given the nickname the "First State," and for five days, it was the only "United State" of America; and

WHEREAS, Dover was named the most patriotic City in the entire state in 2018 and 2019 by Insurify and has roads named after exemplary Naval Officers such as Admirals William Halsey, Jr., Chester W. Nimitz, and Raymond A. Spruance. Dover was also listed in the New York Times for their spectacular Fourth of July Fireworks demonstration dating back to 1976 in celebration of the capital's history; and

WHEREAS, Delaware was home to 18 Medal of Honor recipients dating back to the Civil War, as well as 878 Gold Star Heroes, according to Military Families United. Dover Air Force Base is also located within the capital and plays an indispensable role in the global transportation network, as well as fulfilling the nations most sacred commitment at the Air Force Port Mortuary, Charles C. Carson Center for Mortuary Affairs, ensuring dignity, honor, and respect to all of the fallen heroes of the United States military who have made the ultimate sacrifice to our country.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Council request the Secretary of the Navy to consider naming a United States Naval Vessel, the U.S.S. Dover, in honor of Dover's rich history, the Medal of Honor recipients, and as a memorial to all who pass through Dover AFB's Port Mortuary on their final trip home.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Council direct the City Clerk to make this resolution a part of the permanent records of the City of Dover as a lasting symbol of appreciation and gratitude to Dover's past, present, and future service men and women.

ADOPTED: JULY 8, 2019

ROBIN R. CHRISTIANSEN MAYOR

WILLIAM F. HARE COUNCIL PRESIDENT

TIMOTHY A. SLAVIN AT-LARGE COUNCILMAN MATTHEW J. LINDELL COUNCILMAN - 1ST DISTRICT

TANNER WM. POLCE COUNCILMAN - 1ST DISTRICT

SCOTT W. COLE COUNCILMAN - 3RD DISTRICT RALPH L. TAYLOR, JR.

COUNCILMAN - 2ND DISTRICT

FRED A. NEIL
COUNCILMAN - 3RD DISTRICT

DAVID L. ANDERSON COUNCILMAN - 4TH DISTRICT

ROY SUDLER, JR. COUNCILMAN - 4^{PH} DISTRICT