Greater Dover Arts Council

The Greater Dover Arts Council (GDAC) is a volunteer group of local arts enthusiasts, educators, parents, & community partners. Appointments are made by the Mayor of Dover. The GDAC was established by Mayor and Council by Resolution dated February 13, 1989.

      Current Committee Members

     Brian Miller, Chairman        Paul Janiga, Vice Chairman        Taylor Collins        Beccy Schwartz        Caroline Greene        

     Susan Johnston        Cheryl Scheir        Chevis Anderson        Amy Spampinato        Cynthia Witt        Sarah Zimmerman

     Margie Cyr        Karen DeMarco        Yvonne Martine        Mayor Robin R. Christiansen


For additional GDAC information: Email:

Mission Statement

The mission of the Greater Dover Arts Council is to assist Kent County artists and arts organizations whose artistic pursuits enhance the quality of life in Greater Dover.

Mayor's Arts Awards

Recognizing the value and importance of the arts to the City of Dover and its surrounding communities, former Mayor Stephen R. Speed, the Dover City Council and the Greater Dover Arts Council (GDAC) established the Mayor’s Arts Awards in 2007 to honor groups and individuals that have made a lasting and profound impact on the artistic and cultural life of the Greater Dover area.

     2007      Phyllis Levitt   

                   Dover Art League

     2008      Dover Symphony

     2009      Kent County Theatre Guild

     2010       no   award presented

     2011       no award presented

     2012      Dr, Basilio Bautista 

                   Biggs Museum of American Art

     2013     Jan Crumpley

   K. M. Hammond

                   Donald A. Parks

     2014      Sharon Crossen

                   Delaware Friends of Folk

                   Gary Knox

Mayor's Youth Arts Awards

Mayor Carleton E. Carey, Sr., the Dover City Council and the Greater Dover Arts Council (GDAC) established the Mayor’s Youth Arts Awards in 2009 to identify, encourage, and recognize talented high school arts students who are heavily involved in the local arts scene. This award recognizes the value of young artists to the City of Dover and its arts community, highlighting the importance of education in fostering future artists.

     2009      Connor Graham

                   Julianne Morris

                   Conor McGriffin

     2010      Jordan Beard

                   Ronald Rider, Jr.

                   Jeffery Heilman

     2011      no award presented

     2012      no award presented

     2013      Rachel Frebert

                   Alicia M. Fox

                   Thomas Price

     2014      Alex Brown

                   Marius Sander

                   Elizabeth Stant

                   Tymir Thompkins